Media Releases

2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Announcement - Appointment and Resignation of Directors

The Board of Directors of Singapore Press Holdings Ltd ("SPH") is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Alan Chan Heng Loon as a Director and Group President of SPH with effect from 1 July 2002.

Mr Chan is currently Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Transport. He is also a Director of Singapore Power (since 1 June 2001) and of PowerGas Ltd (since 15 January 2002).

Mr Chan was previously Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Communications and Info Technology (1999-2001), Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs (1997-1999), Principal Private Secretary to Senior Minister (1994-1997) and Director Manpower, MINDEF (1990-1994). He was also a Director of DBS Group Holding Ltd from April 1996 to September 2001, and a Director of PSA Corporation Ltd from September 1999 to September 2001.

Mr Chan brings with him extensive and invaluable experience in government and in government-linked companies and SPH is pleased to welcome him as Group President and to its Board of Directors.

Mr Chan’s appointment as a Director is subject to the approval of the Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts.

The Board of Directors of SPH also regrets to announce that Mr Tjong Yik Min has today resigned as Group President and Director of SPH to pursue his own interests. SPH thanks him for his contributions and wishes him all the best in his future endeavours.

Mr Lim Kim San, Executive Chairman of SPH, will remain as Executive Chairman and Chairman of the SPH Board.

Ginney Lim May Ling
Group Company Secretary
14 June 2002

For more information, please contact:
Esther Low
Corporate Communications
Tel: 63191280